Recipe Tips, Ingredients Purposes, Q&A and more
Disclaimer: This website may contain affiliate links. Meaning if you click on an affiliate link at this website and then make a purchase of the recommended product or service, we may receive compensation.

Learn more about halal and alcohol

April 2, 2022
Ze Ze

How to enjoy drinking in the Islamic Faith?


keywords: alcohol drink halal, is Listerine halal, alcohol in drinks, what is considered drink


Drinking is looked upon by the Islamic faith as "haram", with all types of excess in life. Alcohol remains outside the definition of halal drinks, which are defined as permissible. Drinking alcohol or even mentioning it may be considered haram (forbidden). By contrast, some Muslim scholars argue that Islamic law does not flatly prohibit all intoxication as long as intoxication does not become an addiction. Some scholars even prohibit intoxicants only when they are harmful to the person who drank them or to society in general.

Even though Listerine is not a drink and contains no alcohol, those who are not absolutely sure about its status should refrain from consuming it because it may contain alcohol chemically or during the manufacturing process. As food is considered halal so long as it has been zabihah slaughtered and wipes hands and feet ritually cleaned before touching food only take something off of a plate if there's more than enough food remaining in order to spare hunger later on. Some alcohol-containing mouthwashes are Listerine Alcohol-Free Mouthwash, Listerine Original Antiseptic Mouthwash, Scope Classic Listerine Antiseptic Mouthwash. and Scope Advanced Alcohol-Free Mouthwash. The Muslim scholars have agreed that Listerine is haram because of its alcohol content in it.

Can I drink alcohol that is halal for Muslims?

Changing religion will not change desires, and what you crave to drink may often be laden with hidden harms regardless of specifically where you claim to stand on the notion of a religious house card. The alcohol content in the drinks themselves is often centered solely on belief systems and comes without blood content, which gives a Muslim's desires an escape valve to considering drinking in general - even when they're away from sinning surroundings or outlets. A Muslim may drink alcohol that does not contain alcohol. The Islamic law allows Muslims to drink “Sakar” (water) and things that do not contain alcohol such as dates, grapes, vinegar, or non-alcoholic beer. Grape Juice and Vinegar are acceptable for use with the Hanafi school of thought.


What is Halal and how do we understand Religious Perspectives on Alcohol Consumption?

keywords: fatwa on alcohol, drinking on religious holidays


In Islam, people are allowed to consume alcohol but this is only to a certain extent. The verses in the Islamic scriptures do not discuss any date for an end period on alcohol consumption. And, when Muslims celebrate religious holidays with alcohol consumption, when they go through the event again in the future times they might find it was no longer Halal because their religious views have been changed now. The Hadith of Sahih Bukhari (5977) and Sahih Muslim (2080) have religious texts that discuss the consumption of alcohol. These talks include "Alcohol makes man happy and jovial," "Alcohol is a poison," and "Whosoever drinks liquor will never be successful." Alcohol is considered to be a poison in these texts, and being poisoned is not considered desirable.


Any substitute for alcoholic drinks that is halal?

keywords: non-alcohol halal drinks, alcohol percentage, drinking a non-alcoholic beverage


For Muslim drinkers, Islam is a religion that prohibits its followers from drinking alcoholic drinks. Alcoholic beverages have been part of the lifestyle in many countries around the world, but for Muslims as well as for many others, there are some substitutes that may work for someone who wants to stay in line with their religious beliefs. The alcoholic ingredients from fermented and distilled sources can be replaced by plant proteins and other substitutes. The energy value of each recipe alone should provide satisfactorily ample amounts needed from a meal with access to the appropriate nutritional input that may take other forms in alcohol including B vitamins, protein, and carbohydrates. As with all products, alcohol has substitutes that can work academically or in a professional setting. Some of these replacements may have a higher nutritional value and still produce the desired effect of an alcoholic drink without the harmful effects. Replace Alcoholic Ingredients with Plant Proteins: In order to replace ingredients in alcoholic drinks, plant proteins often serve as a healthy and natural substitute. Some plant proteins that can replace alcohol-based ingredients include soy, almond, cashew, hemp, rice or hempseed milk, or ice cream. In order to replace ingredients in alcoholic drinks, plant proteins often serve as a healthy and natural substitute. Some plant proteins that can replace alcohol-based ingredients include soy, almond, cashew, hemp, rice or hempseed milk, or ice cream.

going out to drink is one of the favorite social habits for many people. it is for a lot of people was not just about partying and having fun, also about the atmosphere too.

However, the sense of relaxation and zero-responsibility feeling shared by all attendees may come with a price: Alcohol becomes an unhealthy and harmful product.

Under Islamic law, alcoholic drinks are forbidden across the world because scholars restrict alcohol consumption solely to non-Muslim countries

For the Muslim population in Malaysia, there are already lots of red wine or beer that are considered halal beverages or good people around them as superior Muslim businessmen and entrepreneurs to produce a solution that can help to satisfy their poverty and drink quota silence through so-called "halal" alcohol drinks. Non-alcoholic party beverages such as juice, cream soda, and lemonade are permitted in Islam.

The Malaysian Islamic Development Department (Jakim) said that alcohol was prohibited for Muslims, but had noted a decline in the sale of alcoholic drinks by Muslim consumers to be replaced by other products. In order to curb the consumption of alcoholic drinks, the Malaysian Islamic Development Department (Jakim) is pushing for the implementation of a ban on alcohol. The prohibition is in line with World Health Organization (WHO) guidelines against the consumption of alcohol. It also falls in line with Jakim's efforts to increase Islamic culture and develop Malay Muslim society. The federal government will be fully supportive of the proposal because it is for the national interest." It is for the national interest," says Jakim in a statement. "Malaysia needs to be a moderate and sober nation where people are respectful of health, family values, and social harmony."The JAKIM proposal to turn Malaysia into a completely alcohol-free society has provoked mixed reactions among Muslim community members. Some Muslims welcome the idea, while others are concerned about how it will affect their livelihood. "I'm not concerned about what the government is doing because I know that this is a global trend," said Mohd Daud. " If it's good for them, it'll be good for us too."Dr. Mahathir also cited concerns from Islamic school principals who voiced their opinions on how the prohibition would impact their students." Some of our student’s parents are alcoholics and they don't have a choice. What if they lose their jobs and what are they going to eat?" said one principal. "If you outlaw alcohol, these families will only have more problems."One Muslim group, the Malaysian Consultative Council on Islamic Affairs, has stated that the decision will not affect Muslims as long as Muslims remain law-abiding citizens.

Alcohol is haram, or forbidden, in Islam. It is also not allowed in other religions such as Christianity and Judaism.

The following are some halal substitutes for alcoholic drinks: 

- Mix lemon juice with club soda for a refreshing drink that will quench your thirst and satisfy your taste buds. 

- For a cocktail, mix cranberry juice with ginger ale for a sweet and sour drink that has just the right amount of fizz to it. 

- Mix apple cider vinegar with water to create an apple cider vinegar tonic that can be served cold or hot depending on the weather. Add honey to make it sweeter if you want more of a dessert drink.

- For a hot drink, mix fresh mint with warm water. Add honey to make it sweeter if you want more of a dessert drink.