Recipe Tips, Ingredients Purposes, Q&A and more
Disclaimer: This website may contain affiliate links. Meaning if you click on an affiliate link at this website and then make a purchase of the recommended product or service, we may receive compensation.

Everything You Need To Know About Gluten Free Halal Food

June 20, 2022
Gluten-free or Halal Gluten diets have become more popular as people have become more aware of the dangers of gluten for those who are sensitive to it. There has been a rise in the number of people who are avoiding gluten for these reasons which has led to an increase in demand for products with no or low levels of gluten.

What is gluten-free?

Gluten, a complex of two storage proteins in grains, especially wheat, is about 50% prolamin and about 50% gluten. Gluten contains several hundred proteins, but the biological value (digestibility and availability of protein) is low.

Gluten-free

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye and barley. Gluten is the substance that gives wheat flour its elasticity, which makes it perfect to make breads and pastries. Gluten also provides baked goods with their chewiness.

Many people who are gluten intolerant cannot eat any products that contain wheat, rye or barley. This includes all baked goods made with these ingredients, like breads and pastries. They may also need to avoid other foods that contain gluten such as pasta, cereal and soy sauce.

For most people, gluten is a common protein that is easily digested by the gastrointestinal tract. However, a small number of people cannot digest gluten protein.The most common condition of this gluten incompatibility is - celiac disease, which includes diarrhea, bloating, abdominal pain, vomiting, migraines, and even hives, bone pain, anxiety, hormone problems (low thyroid levels and infertility) ) and autoimmune diseases.The incidence is higher in North America, Northern Europe, and Australia, and the peak age of onset is mainly in children and young adults.

Gluten food

What is gluten-free food?

"Gluten-free food" is food that has not been processed from wheat (all Triticum species, such as durum, spelt, and cam), rye, barley, or their hybrids.Or, even if the food is processed with wheat, rye, barley or its hybrids, but the gluten component is specially removed during the processing, so that the gluten content in the food is not more than 20mg/kg, it can also be called "gluten-free food".

Gluten-free food

What is a gluten-free diet?

A gluten-free diet means strictly abstaining from gluten-containing foods.Because gluten acts as a binder and flavoring agent, it can be found in many unexpected foods. Gluten is found in processed cereals such as pizza, pasta, and beer; baked goods such as bread and cookies; and even in everything from soy sauce, sauces, and ice cream to certain medications, beauty products, and dietary supplements. None of these can be ingested.

Gluten-free diet

A few points to be clear are:

gluten ≠ carbs

Many carbohydrate-containing foods, such as rice, potatoes, and beans, are not gluten-free.

Grain Free ≠ Gluten Free

An important difference between gluten-free and grain-free is that gluten-free products contain no grains, while grain-free products may contain gluten.

A gluten-free diet is not the same thing as a low-carbon diet, a ketogenic-diet, etc.There is no direct causal relationship between a gluten-free diet and fat loss.

Gluten free food list

Gluten-free diet function and meaning

People with celiac disease need a gluten-free diet. To ensure that the permeability of the intestine is maintained, thereby avoiding cell damage, tissue damage, leading to organ inflammation, which can lead to organ damage, other more serious symptoms, and even diagnosis of disease.People with gluten sensitivity (gluten intolerance) who follow a gluten-free diet for a period of time may also improve their tolerance to gluten as their gut repairs.If you are not sure if you are gluten sensitive, you can get an allergy test (or a food intolerance test). According to the test results and the doctor's recommendation, try to quit the gluten diet for about 2 to 3 months to observe your physical state, so as to judge whether you need to continue the gluten-free diet.

Do normal people need a “gluten-free diet”?

Research has shown that even in healthy people, gluten intake can occasionally cause leaky gut; it doesn't cause much of a problem. Under normal circumstances, it is not recommended to try this diet for no reason, because the following situations are prone to occur:Missing out on nutrient-dense whole grains, fiber, and micronutrients. Whole grains can lower cholesterol levels and even help regulate blood sugar, thus contributing to the risk of heart disease or diabetes.Some gluten-containing foods are a source of important vitamins and minerals, and excluding gluten at all can lead to deficiencies in B vitamins, iron, and magnesium.Some processed gluten-free foods contain large amounts of unhealthy ingredients such as sodium, sugar, and fat. Causes weight gain, blood sugar fluctuations, high blood pressure and other problems.

Although there is no evidence that people experience "withdrawal" when starting a gluten-free diet. But there have been reports of dizziness, nausea, extreme hunger, and even anxiety and depression when suddenly switching from eating lots of gluten to being gluten-free. These symptoms usually disappear after a few weeks on a gluten-free diet.Aside from the body's reaction, although there are enough choices for gluten-free diets, the price is more expensive than ordinary food, and eating out will be more troublesome.If the average person is still on a gluten-free diet, try to avoid highly processed foods as well. Consume more fruits, vegetables and lean protein at the same time to ensure comprehensive nutrition.

What is a common food list with gluten?

Wheat, rye, barley, whole wheat and their hybrids.

Processed products: cheese, steamed bread, noodles, steamed buns, dumplings, bread, biscuits, cakes, fried foods, wontons, beer, instant drinks, ice cream, canned meat, canned soy products, etc.

Gluten-containing condiments: soy sauce, vinegar, cooking wine, seasoning powder, bean paste, chili sauce, mayonnaise, salad dressing and other sauces.

What is a common food list without gluten?

Unprocessed meat (including fish), fruits, vegetables, nuts, egg

Most natural unprocessed dairy products

Grains: buckwheat, corn, rice, millet, brown rice, black rice, purple rice, tapioca, soybeans, quinoa, oats labeled gluten-free, etc.)

Potatoes: taro, sweet potato, yam

Starch flour: potato flour, corn flour, coconut flour, soybean flour, tapioca flour

Natural Seasoning: Ginger, Garlic, Onion

Drinks: Most drinks except beer

Oils: Vegetable oils, butter, olive oil, coconut oil, avocado oil, etc.

Is Gluten Halal?

Yes, gluten itself is considered halal. Gluten is a protein found in wheat and some other grains, and it is generally considered permissible in Islamic dietary laws. However, it's important to note that the overall permissibility of a food product depends on its entire composition and how it's processed. Always check for other ingredients and potential cross-contamination to ensure a product is halal.



Gluten foods